The Challenges Ahead…

Ok…so I might have gone a little bit off the reservation yesterday – it’s amazing what sounds like a good idea at 4:00 am after a bad night’s sleep – and I’ve been freaking the frakk out ever since.

All right, I exaggerate, but I have been wondering just what in the hell I’ve gotten myself into. If I’m going to hit my goal of 46 posts during the course of lent, here are the difficulties I see before me:

1. Time

Lent started very late this year. So late, in fact, that it started the same week as rugby season. I was already having a hard enough time balancing school, writing, blogging, etc. Now to think that I have to find the time to average a post a day for the next seven weeks?

This is already starting to sound like a bad idea.

2. Brevity

If you’re new to this blog, you might be under the impression that I’m paid by the word (if only!). If you’ve been following for a while, then you know that I’m just naturally long-winded and you’ve graciously accepted it. I also have a tendency to over-edit, a nasty habit that I’ve already explored here. Because of the restrictions on my time, I’m going to have to figure out how to keep it short and not over think it.

And, speaking of “it”…

3. Creativity Confidence

At first I questioned where the content was going to come from. How was I ever going to have enough ideas to post so frequently? What occurred to me, though, was that I have no shortage of things to say on this page. But I do have some serious doubts about what’s really worth saying. I’m going to have no choice but to put some of that doubt in check if I’m going to make it.

As it stands now, my one hope – aside from finishing, obviously – is that I don’t end up compromising the standards I’ve set for myself on this blog. What’s the point of forcing myself to write more if I end up writing shit? For right now, I’m just going to keep my fingers crossed that I’ll ultimately benefit from the challenges ahead.

Wish me luck.

As always, thanks for reading.

CVA

Leave a Reply

