Hitting a New Low

So, this weekend the wife and I got to enjoy that most precious of commodities for parents of small children: A night alone. The Elder was having a sleepover at her auntie’s, and my parents were eager to enjoy a night with The Younger. Typically, an evening free from the kids equals date night. I’m sure any parents reading this can relate. Date night for us usually entails a budget-friendly dinner out, a couple of rounds of whatever beer is on special, and then finally getting to see whatever movie the world’s been buzzing about the past few months (usually right before it leaves the second-run theater in Joliet).

This weekend, however, we discovered a new rock bottom. We dropped the children off, traded cars with my sister (because even if we totaled each other’s rides, it would be easier to deal with the police and the insurance companies than swapping out the carseat for a night), and drove off into the sunset for an elusive night of freedom. Which went like this:

1. Pizza and a pitcher of Sam Adams at Giordano’s

2. Shopping at Target for a wedding present for my wife’s cousin

3. Home shortly after 8:00

4. Watching last week’s How I Met Your Mother and The Big Bang Theory on the DVR

5. Nearly passing out on the couch then stumbling upstairs before 10:00

6. Sleeping for twelve hours

And, honestly, I was only up that early because the cats were assaulting us and the dogs were whining to be let out. As soon as everyone had had a chance to relieve themselves and eat, I was back in bed. After a half-hour of tossing and turning – during which time I’m fairly certain I woke up my wife by elbowing her in the head – it was oatmeal and coffee side-by-side at the island in the kitchen before I had to head out to save my parents from The Younger.

And you know what?

It was bliss.

Parents out there….is this normal? Or are my wife and I really just that pathetic? And if this is normal, then what was your most blissfully pathetic experience? Leave a comment and let me know.

As always, thanks for reading.

CVA

Leave a Reply

